Week 5- Take #4 Process

Brainstorm of Topic

My topic of choice from the post-it notes on the window was ‘the meeting between tears and the cheek.’ I wanted to move away from what I believed to be the obvious route – making a structure based off the emotional connotation of tears, and the kind of site that would be associated with it. Instead, I tried to think of the physical meeting between tears and the cheek, considering the curving and organic shapes, the transition between creation and destruction, the movement involved, and so forth.

14089466_1179182348790904_1262835502_n

Research

I remember once reading about how each tear contains a unique crystalline structure which changes depending on the emotion that produced it – I believe this to be due to a reaction with the hormones which alter the structure of the tear. A photography project by Rose-Lynn Fisher entitled ‘The Topography of Tears’ shows photographs of different types of tears, which I wanted to adopt for my structure on the site.

I want to incorporate the crystalline structures of the different types of tears into sculptural shelters of sorts made from glass around the site. I found it fascinating to think how the violent, explosive nature of tears photographed in this manner emulate the forcefulness of the emotions that produce them. As such, I wanted to use similar shapes for my sculptural elements, reminiscent of a wave breaking to continue the metaphor.

References:

Sketches of Ideas

Expanding on my conclusions drawn from research and the thoughts considered in my brainstorm, I experimented with ideas and sketches to consolidate my ideas.

14081268_1179182342124238_138450277_n

14055606_1179182355457570_542037269_n

Sketchup Modeling of Take #4

I was glad that this time I was able to make the final model so similar to the plan drawings. My confidence with SketchUp has really improved over the past few weeks, which has enabled me to realise more complex designs. It was still monstrously irritating to try and create geometry which didn’t follow axes though.

Anyhoo, I’m happy with this, although a little worried that the monochromatic colour scheme and glass is too reminiscent of ice, which wasn’t quite what I was going for. I wanted to put some warmer mood lighting in my rendered images, and possible more ambient setting and colours through Photoshopping the renders.

Rendered Images of Take #4

These are the images I’ll be printing off for peer review on Tuesday.

Leave a comment